Reflections on Fear: Robin Wood Tarot

Queen of Swords, Robin Wood Deck

Focus: What do I fear most at the moment?

Although severe, the Queen of Swords is not unkind.  She has learned through her own pain and is a wise and just leader.  She is, in many ways, the great healer of sorrows.

Queens represent the Goddess in her earthly elemental aspects.  Like any Queen of the Arcana, she acts with only pure intent, towards the highest purpose.

The Queen of Swords may appear distant and somewhat detached, but this is her nature.  She resides in the realm of the mind, the place of intellegence and thoughtfulness.

She is the still, quiet voice of reason.  She is the calmed mind, freed from the monkey chatter of idle gossip and random thoughts.

It is her duty to deal with conflict and damaged situations, in order to restore harmony.

Why should I fear her?

Swords deal with the situations which must be cut away.

Why do I fear her?

She reminds me of my fraility, of the brief time allowed to me in this Earth-Walk.  Will there be another? I believe so, but not here, not now, not with these beloveds around me and not within this particular form.

She reminds me of Atropos, cutting the threads of fate with her awesome shears.  But as with all Minor Arcana, whether courtly or not, she appears only as a guide: my fate is within my own hands.

Ace of Swords, Robin Wood

The mighty Sword of Truth is laid beside her, like a call to arms.  Excallibur only appears when timely action is right and necessary.

But what if I make the wrong choice? What then?

Freewill and the ability to make our own fates is an awesome responsiblity.

 Martin Luther King, Jr said:
The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy. 

 

 

 

Mitakuye Oyasin – We Are All Related

Freespirit x

[shareB]

Leave a Reply

