Card of the Day: Temperance, Robin Wood

My card of the day is drawn from one of my own treasured decks; my interpretation is drawn from my intuition and from my many years of experience as a professional tarot reader. Each time I read in this way, I add to my own experience of the arcana, the journey is evolutionary. I hope that my reflections will add something to your own understanding of this mystical and ancient craft.

Temperance – Robin Wood Tarot Deck

Temperance

LOL – I really did laugh out loud when I asked for wisdom for the day and I pulled this card.  Nothing terribly deep and mysterious here, I thought, despite it being a Major.  For one thing I do lack is moderation!  I tend not to walk the middle road.  I am passionate about my loves, I wear my heart on my sleeve and most everyone can read my emotions!

So on the weekend, well yes I may enjoy baking chocolate chip cookies a little more than I should – for the family, you understand – even though I know its not just the fairies who will eat the cookie dough!  (Click here to view my recipe)

But of course, there is another type of temperance.  In my card, this spirit being holds one foot in the water of life and with his hands he juggles three glowing orbs.  He is weaving together disparate elements until he reaches perfection.  To me, he represents the Divine Sword of Truth.

Think of the creation of a sword – it must be firm, but it must also have flexibility.  It must be sharp but it also needs strength.  The process by which this is achieved is called tempering.

We all need to go through this process in our lives.  Some of us will go through it many times more than we would wish and it may seem that others appear to walk through life, largely unscathed and unchallenged.

But life is like this, is it not?  We are constantly tested beyond our endurance.  Sometimes, I look around me and I think my concerns are quite trivial, when I consider the heartache and suffering others must endure.  But this process of temperance is what shapes our characters and makes us who we are.  For when the only thing we can choose is to decide, above the odds, to go on – then we really shine.

I have been reflecting on this quite considerably recently, I am certain that is why I was offered this card today.  To read a story of true courage and endurance, go to Nikki’s Blog and you will have a little insight into how one woman rose to the challenge and decided to put one foot in front of the other, and help others to smile.

Mitakuye Oyasin – We Are All Related

Freespirit x

 

[shareB]

Leave a Reply

