Supporting Scotty’s Little Soldiers

Merry Meet!

I was raised to believe that a smile costs nothing.  So I smile a lot.  Often at people I don’t know.  Sometimes they look surprised, but I go on smiling.  My life has given me many opportunities to smile and be grateful.  I have a loving family, strong children, a host of beautiful grandchildren.  I get to share my life with my soul-mate.  We may not be wealthy, but life is rich and I am blessed.  And at this point in my life, I really want to share that joy.

A smile – such a small thing – such a wondrous thing.  On the logo of Scotty’s Little Soldiers you will read: Help their children smile.

clip_image003

Army Widow Nikki Scott set up the charity in August 2010 to help the children our fallen heroes leave behind, after the tragic death of her husband Corporal Lee Scott left her a widow with two young children.

nikki_scott

Nikki says: “The idea of Scotty’s Little Soldiers first came to me just a few weeks after my husband Lee was killed but back then I was a complete mess and struggled to find the strength to get dressed let alone set a charity up! Now with the support of great friends and family it has been possible.

“I know as an army widow myself with two young children how losing a parent can affect a child. Going through this experience or night- mare should I say, is unbearable for any adult but to watch a child suffer the loss of a parent is… well I can’t even find words to explain it.”

Find out more about Scotty’s Little soldiers here: http://www.scottyslittlesoldiers.co.uk/

Founder Nikki has a dream: To bring some smiles back to the children of our fallen heroes, who made the ultimate sacrifice in the service of our country.  Our pride in these men and women cannot easily be explained to a child.  All that child knows is that Daddy or Mummy is never coming home.

There are so many ways you can help – fund-raising of course, supporting events in your own location, or visiting Scotty’s Shop

But one very special event I would like to tell you all about is the Rugby World Record Attempt!

On 31st May 2013, 44 players and a team of coaches will meet up at the home of rugby legends, Leicester Tigers, to attempt to break a world record in support of Scotty’s Little Soldiers.

I confess, I have a rather special interest in the rugby challenge, as my son is the Team Captain for Scotty’s – check out his charity page here!.  Of course, it goes much deeper than maternal pride!  The teams have promised us a fabulous family event, with all sorts of activites and entertainment.  The good news is you can buy your ticket now for just £5 from Scotty’s Shop.

To keep you informed about what’s going on in Scotty’s world, we send out a monthly email newsletter.  If you would like to receive this, please write and ask to join our mailing list at hello@scottyslittlesoldiers.co.uk

So that’s it for now.  I shall be popping back to chat about ways that Scotty’s supporters all around the country are raising money and bringing smiles.

Mitakuye Oyasin – We Are All Related

Freespirit x

[shareB]

Leave a Reply

