Mother’s Day spread, featuring the Joie de Vivre Tarot by Paulina Cassidy

My cards today are drawn from the Joie de Vivre Tarot. As this was a gift from my son for Mother’s Day, it seemed a good choice to create a spread in honour of my own Mum, now in Spirit.

I always read from one of my own decks; my interpretations are drawn from my intuition and from my many years of experience as a professional tarot reader.

Each time I read in this way, I add to my own experience of the arcana, the journey is evolutionary, each card reveals a different message each time I read it. I hope that my reflections will add something to your own understanding of this mystical and ancient craft.

It is with joy I give you my new spread, the Gift of the Mother.

I laid 6 cards, which I read in the following way.

What is the most important thing I learned from my mother?  The Devil Card of the day0007I laughed when I drew this image – its so absurd, and one thing you and I shared was a sense of the absurdity of life.  You told me you laughed me into the world (your doctor told dirty jokes throughout your labour) and we laughed together all through my childhood and adolescence.

The Devil in my card assumes the manic grin he wears hides the face of despair shown upon his hat.  He mistakenly believes he controls his dancing marionette, who is happily moments away from freeing himself, cutting the cords that bind him even as he dances.

I guess this is what the image is all about: taking control of our own destinies, freeing ourselves even when it seems we are tightly bound.  The puppeteer is chained to a treasure chest, reminding us of the dangers of tying ourselves to the illusions of wealth and holding onto false values.  I like to think that you taught me what is truly valuable, for growing up we had little in the way of luxuries and yet we felt infintely loved and cherished.  As an adult I still feel that family and friends are the most important treasures that we can know.  These things cannot be held by chains but only with love and tender care.

What is my mother’s greatest quality?  StrengthCard of the day0008

You were one of the strongest people I ever knew.  Perhaps not in the physical sense, for you were small of stature, but growing up beneath your protection you seemed fearless.

Strength is about that inner reserve we draw upon when physical strength is not an option; when we meet a force stronger than ourselves.  This is the strength of women all over the world: mighty women who stand fiercly in the face of the hurricane and say: you will not take my child.  It is the strength of love and there is nothing stronger.

What gift did I inherit from her?  Ace of CoinsCard of the day0006

Here is the seed of prosperity and the endless possibilities of the future.

I grew up with a deeply held belief that I could do anything, be anything, achieve anything, provided I believe in myself.  I know with unshakeable certainty that I control my own destiny.  Every day, I value this gift, for however many times I fail, I still trust in my own potential and my ability to thrive.

What feelings do I need to release?  3 SwordsCard of the day0005

This is a card of such immense grief that no amount of tears will ever ease its pain. Perhaps better to acknowledge this and release it to the wind, for holding onto it is such a very great burden.

It is the pain of missed opportunities of course and because they are swords they are in the realm of the mind.

I sometimes feel that a thief stole you away, Mum.  You were sick for a long time before you finally passed on to your next road in spirit: I sometimes felt you had left already.  Did I remember on all those visits when you were less than yourself, to tell you how proud I was of you, and your courage?  How much I loved you?

Three candles remind me of the light at the end of every tunnel.  Hold a light up to your feelings: acknowledge them and then agree, that the past is gone, we cannot change one bit of it.  But the future is still to behold, if we face it with courage and allow the past to remain in the past.  I must learn from my past failings.  Mum, I can hear you say to me now:

“Do your best, that is all anyone can ask of you.  And if you fail, try again tomorrow.”  Tomorrow I shall try harder, Mum.

What am I grateful for?  King of CoinsCard of the day0003

Above all, you taught me to show gratitude and respect for what I have.  I am most certainly grateful for my life, which you gave me.  I am grateful for good health and a sunny disposition which helps me see the best in people.  I am not so much a glass full kind of gal, but a glass overflowing kind!  I do think my life is blessed.  I have a wonderful strong and generous man by my side – my rock and my soul mate.

A heart is etched in the soil beneath the King of Coins’ feet.  So I am reminded that I am grateful to you Mum for bringing me into the world on St Valentine’s day!  I think it inspired me as I grew up to value love above everything else.

What do I miss most about you?  DeathCard of the day0004

What a curious card to turn up in this position.  But of course, its not.  For what I truly miss is your physical presence Mum.  I miss you so much, every day.  I miss you in every way – the shoulder to cry on, the listening ear that never, ever judged my motives, the pride in my smallest and greatest achievements, the shared sense of humour, the intangible quality of mother-daughter.  Growing up, I imagined I could never exist without you in my life.  Of course, I live on and its a wonderful life.  Its the life you gave me.  But I do miss your presence in it.

But, I know that you travel on, somewhere in some dimension, you journey forward on your own unique road, for you love to travel.  You are among the stars and the rainbows: you dance on the wind, freely and without physical burdens.  And that is how I console myself, when I miss your physical presence so much that I could weep.  For you journey onward, gloriously and without fear, as always.

 

Mitakuye Oyasin – We Are All Related

Freespirit x

[shareB]

2 thoughts on “Mother’s Day spread, featuring the Joie de Vivre Tarot by Paulina Cassidy

  1. What a beautiful, heartfelt reading, Freespirit: I was deeply moved by this, thank you! I am so grateful to still have my mother to share laughter and tears with, to play with my son and counsel me wisely. I realise what a gift that is.

  2. Thank you so much for your kind words, Chloe and for taking the time to leave a comment. I am always so happy to share what I read in the cards – but it is very special to know that it has reached someone.

    Many blessings to you – Freespirit

Leave a Reply

