Tarot Talk: 5

Merry Meet!

“I spent three days a week for 10 years educating myself in the public library, and it’s better than college. People should educate themselves – you can get a complete education for no money. At the end of 10 years, I had read every book in the library and I’d written a thousand stories.”   Ray Bradbury August 22, 1920 – June 5, 2012

I grew up on Ray Bradbury. I borrowed all his novels from my school library (a wonderful place of which I still hold fond memories) and then re-read them as my own children were growing up.

I think he was something of a visionary, bringing science fiction and fantasy out of sterile laboritories and gothic landscapes into the suburban landscape of middle America.

The Orwellian nightmare of Fahrenheit 451 was truly disturbing, and in this world of iPads and Kindles, I still cannot contemplate the idea of a child growing up in a home devoid of bookshelves.

But it was his imagery which truly inspired me; the living landscape of the Illustrated Man – the golden skinned beauties of the Martian Chronicles – the malevolent horror of Something Wicked This Way Comes – fired my imagination and lit a spark within me for both the unimaginable and the absurd.

I know I should credit Ray Douglas Bradbury as one of the great teachers of my life’s journey.  Perhaps it was inevitable that I should follow this road of imagination into the dreaming world of the Tarot, where all things and all realities are possible, if only we permit ourselves to believe.

Mitakuye Oyasin – We Are All Related

Brightest Blessings – Freespirit x

Leave a Reply

